Manor complex, Łańcuchów
Narodowy Instytut Dziedzictwa pl
photo

An early 20th century brick manor house designed by Stanisław Witkiewicz, this building is highly unusual for the region due to the fact that it represents the so-called Zakopane style - a folk revival style devised by Witkiewicz himself, inspired by the traditions of the highland Podhale region.

History

The manor is located within the area of a village with 14th-century roots which even enjoyed municipal rights between the 16th and 17th century. The surrounding land was originally the property of the Kuropatwa family, having subsequently passed on to the Orzechowski and Spinka family. During the 18th century, the manor came into the hands of the Suffczyński family, while in the 19th century it was acquired by the Wołk-Łaniewski family. In the late 19th century, Jan Stecki, an eminent economist, member of various agricultural associations and an activist of the National Democracy (ND) married Maria Wołk-Łaniewska, part of whose dowry was the Łańcuchów manor which he acquired as a result. Jan Stecki used the land to establish a state-of-the-art farm and made a decision to build his country home here as well - a home that would, fittingly, be an example of “national architecture” that was fashionable back in the day, one of the variants of which had been what was known as the Zakopane style - the folk revival style created by Stanisław Witkiewicz. The new manor house replaced the previous, Gothic Revival building, with parts of its foundations being incorporated into the new structure. The design was created by the founder and promoter of the Zakopane style Stanisław Witkiewicz, with the construction works taking place in years 1903-1904. For practical reasons, the building was designed not as a wooden house as was customary for the style, but as a brick structure, making it a unique example of the application of the Zakopane style to a brick building. Following the nationalisation of the manor in 1944, the building was adapted to serve as the “House of Visual Arts” - the very first establishment of this kind in the Polish People's Republic, designed as a type of retreat for painters and other visual artists. In 1957, the building changed its functions and - without major alterations being made - became the branch of the Jaszczów hospital; later on, the house underwent a comprehensive restoration in the mid-1980s. In 1993, the house and the surrounding park was repurchased by the grandson of Jan Stecki and then sold to another private individual.

Description

The manor is located at the southern edge of the village, opposite the local church; the entire site lies in a picturesque meander of the Wieprz river. The complex consists of a brick manor house surrounded by a park, with the former kitchen facility and a shrine located in the immediate vicinity.

The front façade of the manor house, designed in the Zakopane style, faces the east. The house was designed on an irregular floor plan consisting of a single-storey corps de logis with a pair of two-storey pseudo-avant-corps positioned on its middle axis, a perpendicular, two-storey southern wing and a single-storey northern wing, the latter taking the form of an avant-corps as it projects ahead of the rear façade while at the same time being slightly receded in relation to the front façade. A basement extends under the entire building, which also features a habitable attic. The interior follows a two-bay layout with a hallway between the individual suites of rooms. In the middle of the central bay lies the vestibule with the main staircase. The manor house is made of brick with limestone additions. The individual parts of the manor house are covered with tall gablet roofs with dormers; all roofs are clad with sheet metal, with tall, decorative chimneys rising high above the roof structure. The building features a wooden queen-post roof truss and flat wooden ceilings between the floors. All façades of the building are made of brick designed to imitate an exposed log structure of a typical Zakopane house; plasterwork architectural detailing in the form of corner quoins and elaborate window and door surrounds serve as the finishing touch, lending the house a truly unique appearance. The façades of the southern wing feature a broad frieze running between the storeys, adorned with plasterwork decorations incorporating motifs typical of highlander art; the building’s numerous gablets are also adorned with the motif of the stylised rising sun above an arcaded frieze. The front façade features a portico made up of a series of semicircular arches supported by rectangular pillars, with a terrace on top; in addition, there is also an arcaded walkway between the portico and the southern wing of the house. Inside, the house features numerous surviving original fixtures and fittings: a dining room in the Zakopane style, with wooden panelling and beamed ceiling, the lavishly decorated staircase, the ornate tiled stoves in the vestibule as well as Classicist plasterwork in the drawing room.

In the vicinity of the manor house itself stands the former kitchen outbuilding, substantially modified since the time of its construction, its roots believed to reach as far back as the 18th century, as well as a brick shrine with the figure of the Blessed Virgin Mary which replaces the original sculpture of St John of Nepomuk.

The park was redesigned somewhere around the year 1904 by the renowned landscape designer Stanisław Celichowski. The picturesque landscape park maintains visual links with the river which flows around the complex from the east. In the west, one may still discern the remains of an alley lined with lime trees which had once connected the manor and the nearby church. On the western side of the manor house there are remains of a parterre garden, while towards the east there is a section of the park in which traces of a representational lawn can still be found. Originally, the complex was accessible through a wooden gate designed in the Zakopane style, which has since been relocated to the Lublin Rural Heritage Museum.

Limited access to the historic building. The historic monument can be viewed from the outside (private property).

compiled by Bożena Stanek-Lebioda, Regional Branch of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Lublin, 13-10-2014.

Bibliography

  • Record sheet, Manor house in the manorial and park complex. Łańcuchów, compiled by Kruk M., 1999, Archive of the Regional Office for the Protection of Historical Monuments in Lublin; Archive of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Warsaw.
  • Kurzątkowska A., „Zakopiańskie” dzieło St. Witkiewicz pod Lublinem, Biuletyn Historii Sztuki, 1980, no. 1, pp. 99-102;
  • Kurzątkowska A., Witkiewicz w Łańcuchowie, “Spotkania z Zabytkami”, 1994, no. 5, pp. 30-33.
  • Michalska G., Dwór Jana Steckiego w Łańcuchowie. Polskość spod Tatr (in:) Maliszewska R. (ed.), Ziemiaństwo na Lubelszczyźnie, Kozłówka 2003, pp. 305-320.
  • Omilanowska M., Polska. Pałace i dwory, Warsaw 2005, pp. 81-83.
  • Ziółek E. M., Korespondencja Stanisława Witkiewicza i Jana Steckiego z Łańcuchowa (in:) Maliszewska R. (ed.), Ziemiaństwo na Lubelszczyźnie, Kozłówka 2003, pp. 321-334.

General information

  • Type: manor house
  • Chronology: Początek XX w.
  • Form of protection: register of monuments
  • Address: Łańcuchów
  • Location: Voivodeship lubelskie, district łęczyński, commune Milejów
  • Source: National Heritage Board of Poland

Licence:

report issue with this site

Geoportal Map

Google Map

See also in this area