Fortified manor house - Zabytek.pl
woj. dolnośląskie, pow. świdnicki, gm. Świdnica-gmina wiejska
The fortified manor house was erected in the 15th century. It underwent two modernisations stages — a Renaissance one, consisting in the extension of the building, commissioned by the von Bock family (late 16th century) and a Baroque one, commissioned by Friedrich von Zedlitz (1699). In the years 1733-1848, it was owned by the von Schweinitz family, and then by the von Salisch family. After 1955, it was non-occupied and not used. Currently, it is a picturesque ruin situated on an island surrounded by a moat.
It was built on a floor plan approximating a rectangle, with a rounded north wall and an inner courtyard. The two-storeyed structure, also having a high basement, is adjoined by a cuboid tower at the north-east corner. The façades are divided by means of pilasters in the giant order. In front of the ruins, there is a four-arcade stone bridge from the 17th century, spanning the moat.
Limited access to the historic monument. Private property — the structure can be visited from the outside.
compiled by Krzysztof Czartoryski, Regional Branch of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Wrocław, 22-09-2014
- Brzezicki S., Nielsen Ch., Grajewski G., Popp D. (red.), Zabytki sztuki w Polsce. Śląsk, Warszawa 2006, s. 669.
Category: manor house
Protection: Register of monuments
Inspire id: PL.1.9.ZIPOZ.NID_N_02_BK.83788