Palace, Izbicko
Narodowy Instytut Dziedzictwa pl

Zdjęcie panoramiczne tej lokalizacji jest niedostępne.

photo

The palace is a valuable example of the neo-Baroque residential architecture. Along with the adjacent park and outbuildings, it makes a picturesque historic complex.

History

The history of the palace is vague, and the information collected so far is fraught with gaps and inconsistencies. The building was probably erected in the 18th century, possibly on an earlier structure mentioned in some 16th-century records. After a fire (the dated provided are 1748, 1812, and 1848), it was rebuilt in a form known from the popular print by A. Duncker from the mid-19th century. It depicts the palace with a flat roof, with towers topped with a battlement in place of contemporary avant-corpses. Heavily damaged during the Third Silesian Uprising, it was rebuilt in the years 1923-1932 in the neo-Baroque style as in the F.B. Wernher’s print of the 18th century which also shows a large garden laid out behind the palace. During the post-war renovations (especially in the 1980s), the palace lost its antique equipment. Since 2003 the palace, along with the adjacent park and other buildings, is held by a private owner; it has been restored and serves hospitality purposes.

Description

The palace and the park are located in the north part of the village. The entrance to the historic complex is from the main country road; on both sides of the gate, there are the statues of wild boars on massive pedestals, alluding to the coat of arms of the former palace owners - the Strachwitz family.

The neo-Baroque palace was built on a rectangular floor plan, with square avant-corpses in the sidemost axes of the south, front façade. The building has two floors; it is covered with a large mansard roof with dormers and a loft. The front façade has a single axis, with single-axis projections on the sides. The three central axes are highlighted with a triangular pediment and decorative window surrounds. The main, arched entrance is in the central axis. The window openings are rectangular, in simple stucco surrounds, arranged symmetrically; they are higher in the second level. The north façade is a 15-axis design at the ground level and a 13-axis design in the upper level; on the east side, it exhibits high windows of the representative chamber. The central part is crowned with a three-axe, triangular pediment; in front of the entrance, there is a portico resting on columns, with a terrace embraced with a balustrade. The west façade is simple, with irregularly distributed windows. The more representative east façade is of a 5-axis design in the ground level; in the upper level, it features rectangular windows, above which there are round windows topped with a wavy cornice. On the south side, there is a low, semicircular outhouse accommodating a staircase and a roof terrace.

The internal two-bay layout with the corridor has been largely transformed. The east avant-corps still has its cross vaulting; inside, on the east side, there is a barrel-cross and sail vaulting, and the corridor is covered with a barrel vault with a lowered arch.

The well-maintained park occupying an area of approx. 10 hectares (register of monuments: A-113/84) boasts old trees of monumental character, a pond seasonally filled with water, gazebos sitting of land elevations, etc.

The palace and the park are freely accessible; part of the interior available after prior arrangement.

Compiled by Ewa Kalbarczyk-Klak, NID, O Regional Branch of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Opole, 17.11.2015.

Bibliography

  • Katalog Zabytków Sztuki w Polsce, t. VII, z. 14, red. T. Chrzanowski i M. Kornecki, s. 14.

General information

  • Type: palace
  • Chronology: XVIII w.
  • Form of protection: register of monuments
  • Address: Izbicko
  • Location: Voivodeship opolskie, district strzelecki, commune Izbicko
  • Source: National Heritage Board of Poland

Licence:

report issue with this site

Geoportal Map

Google Map

See also in this area