Former manorial chapel of St John the Evangelist, Seroczki
Narodowy Instytut Dziedzictwa pl

Zdjęcie panoramiczne tej lokalizacji jest niedostępne.

Former manorial chapel of St John the Evangelist

Seroczki

photo

A unique example of wooden Baroque architecture of nationwide importance.

History

It was erected in 1780.

Description

The chapel is located in the western part of the Seroczki manorial complex. It is a single-storey Baroque structure designed on an octagonal plan, topped with a pyramid roof surmounted by a roof lantern. The building is a wooden log structure clad with weatherboards arranged horizontally up to about one-third of the height of the walls, with a vertical arrangement used for the upper section. The chapel has a single entrance door as well as one window. The walls are crowned with a narrow, profiled top plate. The arcaded roof lantern is topped with a Baroque cupola with a spire on top. Both sections of the roof are clad with overlapping metal sheets. The interior features a ceramic tiled floor, a flat ceiling and walls covered with plaster. The fixtures and fittings of the chapel include a pair of Baroque sculptures of the Virgin Mary and St John.

Property of the parish. The building can be viewed from outside.

compiled by Sara Szerszunowicz, Regional Branch of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Toruń, 16-10-2014.

General information

  • Type: chapel
  • Chronology: 1780 r.
  • Form of protection: register of monuments
  • Address: Seroczki
  • Location: Voivodeship kujawsko-pomorskie, district aleksandrowski, commune Zakrzewo
  • Source: National Heritage Board of Poland

Licence:

report issue with this site

Geoportal Map

Google Map

See also in this area