Filial Church of Our Lady of Częstochowa - Zabytek.pl
woj. pomorskie, pow. człuchowski, gm. Czarne-obszar wiejski
The first church in Raciniewo was Catholic. After the Reformation, it was taken over by Evangelicals. The first mention of the church as a filial church of the parish of Czarne was in the records of 1617. Since 1946, it has served as Catholic church and a filial church of the parish of Bińcze. The current building was erected in 1680. According to tradition, it was built in a single night (probably only the timber frame structure).
The church is located on the north-eastern edge of the village, on a hill. It can be accessed by a number of steps. The building is adjoined by a free-standing bell tower. The church plot is partly wooded and boasts the relics of the former graveyard. The adjacent plot is occupied by a contemporary graveyard.
The main body of the church is a half-timbered structure with brick infills, covered with plaster; the west façade was reconstructed using brick. Both gables of the main body are covered with wooden boards. The walls were covered with an additionally layer of bricks on the inside in 2001. The tower features a post-and-beam structure covered with wooden boards. The sacristy is made of brick. The building was erected on a rectangular floor plan and features a single-space layout without a separate chancel. The main body is cuboidal in shape and covered with a gable roof. A tower was incorporated in the ceiling of the nave on the west side and covered with an octagonal dome with an orifice, surmounted by a spire with a flag. A small sacristy, which was built on the floor plan of a rectangle enclosed on three sides to the east and covered with a roof consisting of five sections, was added to the east façade of the main body. The main entrance to the church is located on the west façade, a side entrance (directly to the nave) on the south façade. The façades of the main body feature an exposed wall structure characterised by checkerboard arrangement of posts and beams, which are contrasted with infills covered with plaster. Window and door woodwork is contemporary.
The church interior boasts a western gallery and side galleries, reaching up to 1/3 of the length of the wall of the nave. The preserved original furnishings include a Baroque altar from the 17th c. (modern painting) and pews and confessionals from the 18th-19th c.
The monument is open to visitors. Viewing of the church is possible directly before and after services.
compiled by Regional Branch of the National Heritage Board of Poland in Gdańsk, 17-11-2015.
- Sadkowski T., Drewniana architektura sakralna na Pomorzu Gdańskim w XVIII-XX w., Gdańsk 1977;
- Fryda M., Kościoły Człuchowa i okolicy, Człuchów 1995, s. 64
Protection: Register of monuments
Inspire id: PL.1.9.ZIPOZ.NID_N_22_BK.39360